Module One: Learning Standards Required by the Accreditation Bodies in Texas

State of Texas

To learn more about accreditation and learning requirements within the state of Texas, you can visit the following sites.
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS)

The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges is the regional body for the accreditation of degree-granting higher education institutions in the Southern states. The Commission's mission is the enhancement of educational quality throughout the region and it strives to improve the effectiveness of institutions by ensuring that institutions meet standards established by the higher education community that address the needs of society and students. It serves as the common denominator of shared values and practices among the diverse institutions in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and Latin America and other international sites approved by the Commission on Colleges that award associate, baccalaureate, master's, or doctoral degrees. The Commission also accepts applications from other international institutions of higher education.

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB)

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board provides leadership and coordination for the Texas higher education system. Since its creation by the Texas Legislature in 1965, the Board has worked to achieve excellence for the college education of Texas students. The Board meets four times a year. Meetings occur in Austin but are usually broadcast on the Web. 

Texas College and Career Readiness Standards
Developed through the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, the Texas College and Career Readiness Standards (CCRS) “establish what students must know and be able to do to succeed in entry-level courses offered at institutions of higher education.” The CCRS are set up in a multi-level framework to first identy key content within one of five subjct matters: English/Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, and Cross-Disciplinary Standards.  The next component identifies key concepts and skills. The third component is a performance indicator of expected knowledge and skills. A fourth component is any number of examples of performance indicators.

Read more:

Previous Overview Next